Guest Interview with Kat Holmes

Please welcome author Kat Holmes to Book Talk Tuesdays. Thanks for dropping by, Kat.

What is The Lighthouse about?

It’s a romance story with a murder mystery and a ghost. Rachel Westmont inherits a lighthouse from a relative she didn’t even know she had but as soon as she arrives strange things begin happening. Books fly off the shelves, an eerie voice is carried on the wind, and then bodies start to show up.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

My love of lighthouses and their rich history inspired this story. Lighthouses all over the world have a long history of hauntings, mysterious disappearances and murder. So it was a natural progression to make a story with murder and a ghost in it.

Describe your writing in three words.

Mysterious, paranormal, intense. 🙂

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

Nope, my muse decides the plot and where the whole thing is going. I just go along for the ride.

Are your characters in the book based on anyone you know?

Some are. Most are not. But writing is good therapy and a way to deal with certain people. LOL

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you?

Yes. I have a book out this month co-written with my mom and fellow author L.J. Holmes. Killing the characters off was extremely hard even though it had to be done. I cried the whole time.

If your book was made into a TV series or movie, which actors would you choose to play your main characters?

Hmm interesting. I have never thought about it. I think Rachel would be best portrayed by Portia de Rossi. As for the hero Craig, I think Viggo Mortensen would be great.

Who gets to read your drafts before they’re published?

My mom is my reader and helps me edit my work. I love her. She’s an angel.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve Googled?

Food grade diatomaceous earth. But I had a reason as weird as it sounds to google that. I’d heard it was a good remedy for fleas and needed to find out if that was true. It actually is. LOL

What projects are you working on now?

I am currently working on the sequel Hidden, my vampire novel. As soon as I finish that I will begin the next sequel in my Artica lights series.

Is there anything else you would like to say to your readers?

Thank you to each and every one of you. You are the best.

Where can readers find you and your books online?

MuseItUp Publishing

Amazon

When Rachel Westmont inherits a lighthouse from an aunt she didn’t even know she had, she’s overjoyed. The news couldn’t have come at a better time. Newly divorced from a self-serving doctor, the change of scenery is just what she needs. So she packs up and leaves California for a little island off the coast of Maine. Rachel falls in love with both Star Island and the beautiful lighthouse and cottage she’s inherited. But, odd things begin to happen right from the first day. Cold chills permeate the cottage and books fly off the shelves. And someone seems to be playing pranks on her. But when the ante gets upped and someone tries to kill her, Rachel must turn to hunky local sheriff Craig Lewis for protection. Now bodies are turning up, people are getting hurt, and Rachel is starting to suspect her aunt didn’t die a natural death. Can Craig stop a killer from claiming Rachel as their next victim? A little help from a ghost may be in order.


PROLOGUE

Razor-sharp pain took her breath away. Her body lay broken and death raged to claim her. How cruel fate was. She’d just found peace and it vanished, stolen from her in the blink of an eye. Why did this happen? What did she ever do to deserve this? Who would care for her beloved lighthouse?

A moment later, or perhaps an eternity, the pain stopped. She felt lighter than ever before. She felt free. No anguish, no loneliness, no misery. Everything in the world seemed perfect and filled with joy. She couldn’t help the laugh bursting from her. This was life as destiny truly meant it to be. Mortal life could never compare to this freedom. Home beckoned.

She looked down at her body as she floated upward. It lay crumpled at the bottom of the stairs leading to the tower of the lighthouse she cared for all her mortal life. She could see the blood pooling around her head and the unnatural position of her limbs. Without a doubt they’d shattered as she’d landed. The sight would horrify her if she was still bound to her human body,but it meant nothing to her now.

Turning away, she looked upward as her form floated, heading for home. Excitement and anticipation filled her with glee. She’d get to be with her dear parents, after so many years apart. She missed him terribly. Her brother determined to break all ties with his past, both his home and what was left of his family, turned his back on her and the island home they’d gown up on. She’d been so alone for too long.

Rising, she finally reached the top of the lighthouse stairs and frowned at the hooded figure. Memory flooded back. The argument that ensued between them flashed before her. Then came the horrible moment when she’d been pushed and tumbled down the stairs. She’d been murdered.

She watched as her killer, calm as could be, walked down the treacherous steps of the lighthouse tower, checked her body for life signs, and then walked out without even a backward glance. No compassion showed on her killer’s face, only cruel satisfaction. No one would suspect her death to be anything other than a terrible accident.

The lighthouse that she’d long served, as keeper, dated back to the late 1700’s. The stairs were steep and very narrow as they wound up toward the top of the lighthouse where the light shined out. It possessed no railing either. It would be so easy for someone to slip and fall, and any fall would be deadly. Everyone would just assume that was what happened to her. No one would suspect she’d been pushed.

She could see the light now. It would be so easy to just head toward it. But she couldn’t leave, not yet. She couldn’t allow her murderer to get away with killing her. She needed to make sure her killer got caught. The light was so beautiful and how she ached to follow it, but she turned away from its promise of peace and joy and headed back down.

This lighthouse gave her haven all her life. Now she would haunt it until her murder was avenged. This she vowed.

I’m a dreamer and a lover of words. Books have been my passion since I listened to my mother reading to me as a child. The love she instilled in me has culminated in my desire to write the kind of stories I have always loved to read. I believe books are the single most important invention mankind has ever created. I started writing when I was only fifteen for my own enjoyment. I still write for my own pleasure, but now I get to share that love with my readers.

Thank you so much for joining me today, Kat. It’s been a joy. 🙂

3 Replies to “Guest Interview with Kat Holmes”

  1. I am a lucky duck, cause I get to read Kat’s work as she’s writing it. (There are SO MANY ADVANTAGES being her Mom) When she was writing this story I tried really hard to figure out the solution. I got out my trusty spyglass, Meerchaum pipe and Deestalker hat…truth me there are foot marks up and down our walls, and even some on the ceiling…though that didn’t work out well…gravity you know…In all my reading years, and there’ve been a LOT of reading years, only Dame Agatha Christie could stomp my little gray cells from doing their Hercule Poirot…until Kat started writing mysteries. She really is THAT good. And I am not just saying this because she’s my offspring. I enjoy her GAW series, but I am not IN LOVE with it as I am with her mysteries.

    And this IS a fantastic interview. Well Done Ladies…now I am off on the trail of solving the whodunit of her current WIP…wish me luck…I’m gonna need it.

Leave a Reply

