BLOG TOUR: Guest Interview with J.Q. Rose & Giveaway

It’s my pleasure to welcome J.Q. Rose, author of Coda to Murder!

Blog tour MIU Card

What is your book about?

Pastor Christine Hobbs deals with situations never addressed in seminary such as catching the person who murdered her church music director in the basement of the church or caring for a pig and kangaroo in the back yard of the parsonage.

Coda To Murder 333x500

What inspired you to write this particular story?

The word, forgiveness.

Describe your writing in three words.

Fun, entertaining, escape

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

I usually let the story swirl through my brain for quite awhile. I usually figure out scenes and characters while taking a shower or quiet walks. Then I scribble down about 15 plot points in my spiral notebook to use as a guide to keep on the story on track. This is not written in stone, only on paper and erasable pencil!

Are your characters in the book based on anyone you know?

I was thrilled when Pastor Laurie consented to be interviewed for my inspiring book for girls, Girls Succeed. I used some of her background and mixed it up with some other women I admire to come up with my main character, Pastor Christine Hobbs.

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you?

Not so much killing off a character as actually choosing someone I like to be the killer!

If your book was made into a TV series or movie, which actors would you choose to play your main characters?

I’m not really up on actors’ names. But if you can think of a gal who is tall, lean, smart, and pretty then she would be my Christine.

Who gets to read your drafts before they’re published?

My critique writers group named the Koffee Kuppe Writers because we hash all the stories out at the little restaurant in town known as the Koffee Kuppe. I also share chapters with a writers group that meets at our library.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve Googled?

Probably doing research for writing my stories. If I tell you what I googled, it may spoil the ending of my mystery, Sunshine Boulevard.

What projects are you working on now?

Mainly I am working on promoting, but when I get through the big push, I will return to a book I started many years ago, a coming of age story for a 13 year old girl. Lots of humor and funny situations. I also plan on writing more non fiction for girls and continue working on a mystery/paranormal featuring another strong female character.

Is there anything else you would like to say to your readers?

I am thrilled to have a mystery/romance to share with you. I hope it’s an entertaining and satisfying read for you. Please feel free to contact me with feedback on my stories, a wave, or a hug at jqrose02 at gmail dot com

Where can readers find you and your books online?

J.Q. Rose blog:  http://www.jqrose.com/

Girls Succeed blog:   http://girlssucceed.blogspot.com/

Author website:       http://jqrose.webs.com/

J. Q. Rose Amazon Author Page:  http://tinyurl.com/aeuv4m4

Goodreads:   http://www.goodreads.com/jqrose

BUY LINKS:

Now available at MuseItUp Publishing:  http://tinyurl.com/anax9x7

Amazon.com:  http://tinyurl.com/ap376tb

Barnes and Noble.com and other major online booksellers.

Pastor Christine Hobbs has been in the pulpit business for over five years. She never imagined herself caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer. 

Detective Cole Stephens doesn’t want the pretty pastor to get away with murdering the church music director. His investigative methods infuriate Christine as much as his deep brown eyes attract her.

Can they find the real killer and build a loving relationship based on trust?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After writing feature articles in magazines, newspapers, and online magazines for over fifteen years, J.Q. Rose entered the world of fiction writing with her first published novella, Sunshine Boulevard, released by MuseItUp Publishing in 2011. Her latest mystery, Coda to Murder, was released in February. Blogging, photography, Pegs and Jokers board games, and travel are the things that keep her out of trouble. Spending winters in Florida with her husband allows Janet the opportunity to enjoy the life of a snowbird. Summer finds her camping and hunting toads, frogs, and salamanders with her four grandsons and granddaughter.

Thanks for stopping by today, Janet. I wish you great success with Coda to Murder!

16 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Guest Interview with J.Q. Rose & Giveaway

Add yours

  1. Hi Kim, Thanks so much for the interview. Readers may not realize you were one of the editors on this book. Really appreciated your input during the editing process and promotion today!

  2. I have to let a story brew in my head for quite a while, too, JQ. Great interview, would this be considered a cozy? The characters sound great. On my TBB list for sure.

    1. I believe it would be a cozy since it involves someone other than police or p i as the mc doing the investigating. I know Marva liked Sunshine Boulevard and said it was truly a cozy. The main characters were a senior couple in the retirement community. What is TBB? I know TBR. Thanks for stopping in..

  3. Really sounds like a goodie, JQ. Good luck with this tour. It should be tons of fun!

    PS. I would give anything to have a critique group in my own town. That would be great!

    1. Penny, I appreciate it sounding like a goodie!! Very cute. When I joined this crit group of now 4, none of us had a book pubbed. Now ALL of us do plus! I have to tell you my writing buddies are fabulous authors. Three of us have another book out now—W.S. Gager, Tess Grant, and me and Joselyn Vaughn’s book will be released soon!

  4. Suzanne, I only wish we could include audio in this story. So many songs mentioned, In fact, I asked the composer, Dennis Jernigan, if I could use the words of his beautiful hymn, You Are My All in All, in the story. And he said yes! It is one of Pastor Christine’s (and mine) favorites.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

How To Ebook

Materials on how to write, publish and market your ebook

CMAJ Blogs

medical reporting and reflections

Sisters of Suspense

spine tingling suspense

Room With Books

~ Book Reviews and More ~

Karen Docter

Karen's Book Bench

latenitereads

Which books will keep you turning pages all nite???

