Guest Interview with M.C.V. Egan

booktalk2

Hey readers, Happy Tuesday! It’s my pleasure to welcome M.C.V. Egan, author of The Bridge of Deaths! Book Front Cover

What is your book about?

My book is about a modern day couple in London researching a certain event in their past lives. They come in contact with a woman in Florida researching the same event and together they uncover the facts about the crash of an airplane; the G-AESY Lockheed Electra 10A. They use traditional methods of research as well as the help of psychics through psychometry and past life regressions. The book touches on well-known and little known pre WWII events. All data that can be proven is clearly footnoted for anyone to corroborate.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

The Bridge of Deaths is a blend of fact and fiction. The inspiration came from my maternal grandfather’s death, there was always intrigue around the pre WWII plane crash that took his life and that of four others. I grew up understanding it was sabotage, as I set out to investigate there were many contradictory issues.

Describe your writing in three words.

Originality, persistence and Creativeness.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

I do create outlines and lists, but I am flexible and know not to limit these, it pays off to be open minded, because if as a writer you can surprise yourself you are sure to pass that element of surprise or thrill on to the reader.

Are your characters in the book based on anyone you know?

I used the character Catalina to detach and still be able to explain how I came across some of what I researched. She is based on me in just her relation to one of the casualties and her origins.

I made her obsessed and lonely. I am married, a mother, a step-mother, a dog owner and my life is not at all like the character.

The character Bill is based on the real subject that allowed me to use his past life regressions with a request of absolute anonymity.

The character Maggie has traits of many women I have known in my life. Some I see very clearly because Maggie is such a strong go-getter. I have gotten a lot of feedback from readers who say that they know someone just like Maggie.

In the books intro I explain how I created her, so she may well be also loosely based on the young woman at the past life regression group that inspired her.

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you?

I used the character Catalina to detach and still be able to explain how I came across some of what I researched. She is based on me in just her relation to one of the casualties and her origins.

I made her obsessed and lonely. I am married, a mother, a step-mother, a dog owner and my life is not at all like the character.

The character Bill is based on the real subject that allowed me to use his past life regressions with a request of absolute anonymity.

The character Maggie has traits of many women I have known in my life. Some I see very clearly because Maggie is such a strong go-getter. I have gotten a lot of feedback from readers who say that they know someone just like Maggie.

In the books intro I explain how I created her, so she may well be also loosely based on the young woman at the past life regression group that inspired her.

In the books intro I explain how I created her, so she may well be also loosely based on the young woman at the past life regression group that inspired her.

If your book was made into a TV series or movie, which actors would you choose to play your main characters?

Now this is a popular question and I love to dream big. The perfect guy for Bill is Alex O’Loughlin, as he would have to play both Bill in 2010 and The Pilot in 1939. My husband says Emily Blunt is the perfect Maggie … so hard and so many characters and real people, but why not dream big right? Here is my full star cast.

Bill / Pilot Clifford C. W. Wright – Alex O’Loughlin

Maggie/ Pilot’s wife – Emily Blunt

Catalina – Julia Ormond (She might be too young)

Anthony Crossley – Colin Firth (He might not be young enough)

Cesar A. Castillo – Andy Garcia

Erich Bruno Wilhelm Beuss– Hans Landa (He would need to gain weight)

Samuel James Simonton – Johnny Depp (the not quirky type from movies like the Rum Diaries)

Alfred Stanley Marsden Leigh – Jeremy Renner

Since dreaming does not cost anything I will choose a shy is the limit crew for the parts of the various inspectors, engineers, airline owners as they can be older, Tom Hanks, Bruce Willis, John Travolta.

Who gets to read your drafts before they’re published?

I have friends that are great Beta Reader’s and my husband, then on to professional editing.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve Googled?

Well I won’t tell you about any of my recent Googles for the book I am working on, but for The Bridge of Deaths for me the weirdest was the position of corpses during fire and drowning. I finally found a wonderful pathologist who helped me and that was far better than Google.

What projects are you working on now?

I am working on a book called 4covert2overt in 33 Days it is the story of a young woman in search of ‘self’, with the back drop of the global concern for all soldier’s moral dilemmas. It is very different from The Bridge of Deaths as it should be as I am working with a co-author.

Is there anything else you would like to say to your readers?

Your questions were great and they cover so much that I would just like to say how very happy I am to be a guest on your Blog.

Where can readers find you and your books online?

The Bridge of Deaths can be found anywhere that books are sold on-line here are the primary links.

AMAZON KINDLE

AMAZON Paperback

Barnes and Noble

BOOK BACK COVER

On August 15th 1939, at the brink of World War II, an English plane crashed and sunk in Danish waters. Five deaths were reported: two Standard Oil of New Jersey employees, a German Corporate Lawyer, an English member of Parliament, and a crew member for the airline. Here is a conceivable version of the events.

M.C.V. Egan author Pic

M. C. V. Egan is the chosen pen name for Maria Catalina Egan, author of The Bridge of Deaths. Originally from Mexico City, Mexico; M.C.V. Egan has lived in various parts of the USA as well as France and Sweden. She is fluent in four languages; Spanish, French, Swedish and English.

Maria Catalina Egan is married and has one son, who together with their five pound Chihuahua make her feel like a fulltime mother. Although she would not call herself an Astrologer she has taken many classes and taught a few beginner classes in Astrology. This is one of her many past times when she is not writing or researching.

She is currently working with Jolie DeMarco on a novel called 4covert2overt in 33 Days.

Twitter

Web Site

Facebook

Thanks for stopping by today, Catalina. I wish you great success with The Bridge of Deaths and 4covert2overt in 33 Days!

6 Replies to “Guest Interview with M.C.V. Egan”

Leave a Reply

