BOOK TALK TUESDAYS: Guest Post by Carlene Rae Dater

booktalk2

Please give a warm welcome to Carlene Rae Dater, author of eleven novels, including her most recent mystery releases, Not for Sale and Deadly Deception!

notforsale200x300deadly deception 200x300

Middle Aged Packing Blues

I’m getting ready to go on a vacation, and I dread it. It’s not the trip I mind, it’s the packing.

Things were so much simpler when I was twenty. I opened my duffle bag, threw in a couple changes of underwear, a few clean T-shirts, my toothbrush, comb, lipstick, acne cover-up and I was on my way. If I happened to stay longer than a few days, I’d just wash out what I needed in the bathroom sink and hoped it would dry overnight. Wearing slightly damp panties didn’t bother me a bit.

Oh, how things have changed! Now that I’m in my middle years, I have to take at least one coordinated outfit for each day of my vacation, with shoes and purse to match. I wouldn’t dream of traveling without a nightie, robe and slippers. Who knows what could happen in the middle of the night? An earthquake? Tsumini? Native uprising? I shudder to even think about being caught oust side my room in the nude. Then there’s my makeup: foundation, powder, moisturizer, several colors of eye shadow, eyeliner, eyebrow pencil, false eyelashes for evening, blusher – the list goes on and on. Of course I wouldn’t dream of traveling without my makeup remover, moisturizer, dental floss, mouthwash and toothbrush.

Always the well-groomed traveler, I must bring my curling iron, hot rollers, brushes, combs, mousses and gels. And jewelry. Do I pack it in my suitcase and hope the airlines don’t lose my luggage? Do I trust the baggage handlers to keep their hands off? Or do I take everything in my handbag and pray I don’t run into a mugger on some strange foreign street corner. I didn’t have to worry about things like that when all I owed was a Mickey Mouse watch and a pair of imitation gold hoop earrings.

Of course, I’d never leave home without my sinus pills, anti-acid tablets, aspirins, vitamins, eye drops, migraine medication, sewing kit, bandages, ear plug, sleeping mask or extra pair of eye glasses. I’ll probably never need any of these things, but I have to take them along, just in case.

Packing was much faster back in the good old days too. When I was 23 I went to Europe for two weeks. It took me fifteen minutes to pack. Now when I contemplate travel, I start at least two weeks in advance, making lists so I don’t forget anything crucial. The sad fact is I need almost as much junk for a week-end trip as I do for a two week cruise.

My husband thinks he’s come upon the secret of packing for a middle aged travel. (He’s the smart one – I’m the pretty one.) He says the thing to do is take twice the money and half the stuff you think you’ll need, and everything thing should come out even. Maybe I’ll try his method this time.

carlene.2c

So far in her career, Carlene has published eleven novels in the romance, romantic suspense, paranormal romantic suspense humorous romance, mystery, and humorous mystery. Check her website for titles and buy links. Questions? Comments? Email Carlene at: carlenedater@sbcglobal.net.

Carlene Rae Dater

www.carlenedatercom

www.themysterystartshere.com

www.Facebook.com/CarleneraeDater

www.ManicReaders.com/CarleneRaeDater

www.amazon.com

4 thoughts on “BOOK TALK TUESDAYS: Guest Post by Carlene Rae Dater

Add yours

  1. Cute post, Carlene. And I’m afraid there is a lot of truth in it! While I don’t pack co-ordinating outfits with matching shoes and purse, I do make sure I have the anti-acid tablets, anti-gas lozenges, and eyedrops in the case. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

How To Ebook

Materials on how to write, publish and market your ebook

CMAJ Blogs

medical reporting and reflections

Sisters of Suspense

spine tingling suspense

Room With Books

~ Book Reviews and More ~

Karen Docter

Karen's Book Bench

latenitereads

Which books will keep you turning pages all nite???

