Guest Post ~ Author Kimberley Patterson and The Three Month Plan

Hi everyone! Please welcome Kimberley Patterson – author of The Three Month Plan!

IMG_0313

I am often asked if there are any similarities with characters or events in my books to my real life. In other words, did I come up with the inspiration for characters or stories from actual life experiences? And, do I have any common themes that run in my books?

The completely honest answer is – sometimes.

I think that any writer creates stories based on some experiences in their life. The nice thing about fiction though, is that you can elaborate on those particular instances or individuals and have the outcome be however you want it to be. I often feel that writing is therapeutic, and I strongly believe that whether it is for fun, or for a career that it’s worth doing.

In my first novel, Red Rock, I was seventeen when I started writing the book. At that time, I was heavily involved with horses, and found the inspiration very quickly for the story line. Several situations in the book were based on my actual life experiences. In looking back all of these years later, it’s funny to note that even the female lead’s physical description matched my own as a teenager.

In my second novel, The Three Month Plan, the story didn’t come to me as easily as it had in Red Rock. It was tough to get started. I decided to incorporate areas of my personal life into the manuscript to make the story more realistic. As a reader, its always fun to learn how the book and characters are tied to the author personally. Although my writing had evolved, I wanted to stay true to the actual style of how I write. Part of that was developing characters who were realistic and could be identified with. The main female lead, Kelly, is attractive, but shy, self-confident, and tired of failed relationships. Jake Carter is her polar opposite. I think the majority of dating age females have all met a Jake at some point in their lives. Through those encounters we learn a lot about ourselves – good and bad. And, yes, some of the scenes throughout the book were based on my past dating experiences.

As for common themes, both of my female leads struggle with their self image. They have never thought of themselves as beautiful, but once they transform through the story they become beautiful in their own right. I have a strong belief that we are all unique and beautiful, and sometimes we just have to experience certain trials to become stronger and realize this ourselves. In the case of Red Rock, a lot of my readers didn’t initially identify with the main character, Rachel, and felt that she was too mean and immature throughout the book. I contemplated changing her character after the initial reviews came in, but I didn’t. I felt it was essential that readers saw her evolve throughout the book – from a self-absorbed, immature girl to a strong, and capable woman. There is nothing sexier than a strong, independent woman who stands up for herself. And once we realize this, we can each have our own happy ending in real life.

Here’s one of my favorite quotes from The Three Month Plan –

“The only hands I wanted around her waist were mine. And tonight, when she came over to my place and we were finally alone, I would do just that. Turn her towards me, guide my hands gently to her waist, look her in the eyes and tell her the words I never thought I would ever say to anyone. That I love her.”

Synopsis of The Three Month Plan

Kelly Callahan had everything going for her. Everything that is, except for a relationship. It wasn’t for the lack of trying, it just seemed like she was a magnet for all the wrong ones. But all of that was about to change the minute she laid eyes on Jake.
On a dare from her close friend, Michelle, Kelly accepts a challenge to date and become Jake’s girlfriend within three months. The consequence of losing is global humiliation, and she refuses to lose.

Enlisting the help of her childhood friend and confidant, Brian, Kelly manages to catch Jakes attention. She also unknowingly hooks Brian who tries to sabotage the plan. Kelly finds herself with a dilemma; take the final step with Jake and win the plan or follow her heart and reveal her feelings for Brian.

About Kimberley

IMG_0381Horses were one of my first loves, and writing soon followed. As a child, I spent hours writing poems, and short stories (about horses). My parents realized that I was horse-obsessed and decided to buy me one after taking riding lessons for two years. I think they hoped that all of the hard work, and hours spent mucking stalls would help me give up this expensive hobby. They were wrong. Writing is still a passion of mine, although now I primarily write fiction. My first novel, Red Rock, was published in 2010, and big surprise, there are horses in it. My second novel, The Three Month Plan was released August 2013.
Other Loves: My family, yoga, skincare and makeup, sushi, and raising money for pediatric cancer. I have two rescue dogs and would have more if there weren’t zoning restrictions. I’m always trying something new, as I tend to get bored very easily. Thankfully, my love of driving around with the gas light on fuels some excitement. I love novels with happy endings, and am a hopeful romantic. My latest obsession is browsing Netflix, and I can name all 50 states in alphabetical order in under 30 seconds. Do I feel a wager coming on?

To read more about Kimberley or to purchase her books please visit the following links:

http://kimberleypatterson.wordpress.com

http://kimberleyskincare.wordpress.com

http://www.thethreemonthplan.com

http://www.kimberleypatterson.com

http://www.amazon.com

http://www.facebook.com/Kpattersonofficial

2 thoughts on “Guest Post ~ Author Kimberley Patterson and The Three Month Plan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

How To Ebook

Materials on how to write, publish and market your ebook

CMAJ Blogs

medical reporting and reflections

Sisters of Suspense

spine tingling suspense

Room With Books

~ Book Reviews and More ~

Karen Docter

Karen's Book Bench

latenitereads

Which books will keep you turning pages all nite???

